Radio Killed the Radio Star?

16 Feb

 

                          iPod

 The Boomers have been pining for the days of Bob Dylan and the Rolling Stones since shortly after Disco went they way of the Carter adminstration (translation: The great malaise of Disco is over! It’s MTV Morning in America!)  So why do I feel like this trend is accelerated in our generation?

I don’t care to listen to the radio except for NPR or the other local public radio station which plays “indie music” and “adult contemporary”.  When I do listen to the “rock” stations, it’s invariably to indulge in a bit of high school era “alternative” nostalgia with the likes of Alice in Chains or Tool.  I’m only 24.  So what happened?

Napster happened. Satellite radio happend.  Steve Jobs and his iPod happened.  It’s the Balkanization of music, and I couldn’t be happier.  Old Man Syndrome (OMS) seems to be striking before any of us has become old.

Anyone else feel like they’re suffering from OMS?

                      

2 Responses to “Radio Killed the Radio Star?”

  1. BankOfAmerica69 February 16, 2006 at 11:53 pm #

    I think this post was a trap to get me to comment on this blog. Clever. I’m not sure I understand what your point is – that you feel contemporary music has nothing to offer you? Or just radio? What exactly is old man syndrome? I don’t understand how that is related to Napster etc.

    Also, apparently penis jokes are supposed to be big around here or something, so I thought I’d share a joke I made up while talking to Corey on IM:

    Q: How many boners does it take to screw in a lightbulb?
    A: It’s HARD to say!

  2. paxamericana February 17, 2006 at 12:33 am #

    Uh…yeah, I should have made the post longer, but I was at work. My point was that with all the alternatives to the radio (or at least the formats that “free” radio gives you) who really wants to listen to radio? Does anybody care about Top 40? Why not just listen to your 20gig library in your new MP3 compatible Civic Si?

    Listening to the radio on my way back from lunch, I realized that I listen to the stations my father has listented to for years, and tuned into The X and KROQ only to listen to early to mid 90s music, which no one really cares about anymore. And adult contemporary?! (though I have been listening to Sting for years…) I’m old before I was every hip and young.

Leave a Reply

