(Halloween) Party Like It’s 1999

31 Oct

the-uninvited-guests-crash-the-party-with-gumbi-egging-them-on.jpg

This is a story about ghosts. It’s a tense thriller involving murder, pregnancy, poisoning, an inept investigation, making out with pumpkins, and a man who exposes himself to Gumby. It’s harrowing and chilling, in the way that a brain freeze from eating ice cream too fast is harrowing and chilling.

Actually, it’s a ghost website that has been quietly taking up server space somewhere since 1999 and tells the story of a fictional Halloween party in fin de siècle America. Some friends and I put it together back during our senior year of high school (and by “put it together” I mean someone else did all the technical work, I just threw the party and took the pictures, which cost me $50 to develop in the days before ubiquitous digital cameras). For some reason, the website has remained up ever since (as far as we know, the webhosting company we used was bought out by some other company and we haven’t paid anyone a dime in eight years). See if you can spot the Mallrats and X-Files posters in the background. Also, I’m Obi-Wan in the story, but only because I bought my costume that day from a party store and it came with a lightsaber, which seemed like a cool enough deal. (Sigh) And this was in the days before I could blame my dumb behavior on alcohol.

With that, I give you The Party.

3 Responses to “(Halloween) Party Like It’s 1999”

  1. Matt Goss November 1, 2007 at 11:30 am #

    After looking back on the Party after these 8 years, I’ve realized that although the ‘players’ have since become academics and career-women and -men (Obi Wan has become a poet, White Riot is a chemical engineer, Special K is a wall-street big wig (no pun intended, har) and I, Mr. Sinclair am a medical physicist. Let’s hope my boss doesn’t see this site. Or my patients for that matter), the simple and non sequitur humor remians appealing. That and constant bathroom humor.

  2. Keith February 21, 2008 at 2:07 pm #

    Damn, that sucker’s gone now…

  3. paxamericana February 21, 2008 at 10:03 pm #

    Not to worry; I saved all the pictures. “The Party” will live again…

Leave a Reply

