But There’s Nothing *There*

24 Apr

I promise to stop taking trivial passages from Megan McArdle posts and commenting on them, but I had to comment on this:

I mean, I’ve spent a fair amount of time in the territory just north of western Pennsylvania. And yes, their diners do offer some large servings. In this, they are exactly like the diners in Manhattan, except that the eggs have some flavor, and they usually have extremely good raisin toast. (emphasis added)

Where would someone spend a lot of time just north of western Pennsylvania? Does she mean Buffalo? I spent several years living in northwestern Pennsylvania, and let me tell you, there’s not a whole lot of what you would call “things to do”. Erie, sure, but I grew up in Pennsylvania, so the lake seemed nice. I hope she brought a book.

Leave a Reply

