Someone Get John Cain On the Phone…

20 Jun

Because apparently the definitive album of the 1980s is Van Halen’s 1984.  Really? As a fan of The Police and someone old enough to remember when Michael Jackson was almost bigger than Jesus, I object. I understand that the criteria isn’t the best album of the decade, but I’m thinking something a lot more New Wave as the definitive sound of the 80s.

John Cain, the internets needs your music wisdom!

3 Responses to “Someone Get John Cain On the Phone…”

  1. John Cain July 11, 2008 at 5:58 pm #

    Ok, apparently I’m just seeing this. I’m gonna go with Thriller for impact reasons, but if I really wanted to be contrarian and shocking, I’d go with Colour by Numbers by the Culture Club.

  2. paxamericana July 11, 2008 at 8:02 pm #

    And I see that I forgot to link to Dylan Matthews post naming 1984 as the definitive album, without which it kinda seems like I just made it up, or some guy on the street walked up to me and said “Did, you hear? 1984 is the definitive album of the 80s–it’s official now.”

  3. peace coup July 23, 2008 at 1:27 am #

    Thriller or Madonna

    Both game and culture changing efforts

Leave a Reply

