Five Guilty Pleasures, Music Edition

29 Jul

I’ve been tagged, so here are my worst music moments, courtesy of iTunes:

1. Angels and Airwaves, “The Adventure”

I have a soft spot for power-pop and layered pieces (a la wall-of-sound and prog rock).  I’ve always found myself liking Tom DeLonge’s stuff with Blink-182 in spite of the fact he writes some truly bad lyrics This one’s on my workout mix when I go to the gym.

2. Marc Cohn, “Walking in Memphis”

Best line from this song: “She said,’Tell me, are you are Christian, child?’/And I said, ‘Ma’am I am tonight.'”

3. Mike and the Mechanics, “All I Need is a Miracle”

I also have a soft spot for synth-heavy 80s dreck, and the best of New Wave.  This falls somewhere in between.

4. David Bowie, “Underground”

Taken from the Labyrinth soundtrack–a cool, if somewhat disturbing movie; it features David Bowie in very tight pants.  Not as cool as Bowie as Nikola Tesla, but guaranteed to creep out the kids.

5. Tears for Fears, “The Working Hour”

I genuinely like this song, but never heard it until I was in my early 20s.  I had heard “Shout,” “Everybody Wants to Rule the World,” and “Head Over Heels” from Songs From the Big Chair , but nothing else.  Then I went over to someone’s house and listened to it on their record player.  I now also own the album on vinyl (80s all the  way!).

I tag Keith at The Projector is Ripping Your History since he actually knows a thing or two about music.

One Response to “Five Guilty Pleasures, Music Edition”

  1. John Cain July 29, 2008 at 5:50 pm #

    I completely agree with your assessment of the best line in “Walking in Memphis”. I don’t think you should be embarassed, though, that song’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

